We are logging you in. Thank you for your patience!


Connor McDavid steals show at 2021 NHL Awards.

Connor McDavid became the second player in NHL history to unanimously win the Hart Trophy, one of three honors he took home at the 2021 NHL Awards. 

McDavid takes home Hart Memorial Trophy, Ted Lindsay Award and Art Ross Trophy

Edmonton Oilers’ superstar Connor McDavid became the first player in 39 years to win the Hart Trophy in a unanimous vote, at the 2021 NHL Awards. The last player to do it: Wayne Gretzky of the Oilers in 1981-82. McDavid received all 100 first-place votes, while Toronto’s Auston Matthews finished as the runner-up with 69 second-place votes, followed by Colorado’s Nathan MacKinnon. The Oilers captain tallied an outstanding 105 points in the shortened 56-game season, while the next best player, his own teammate, tallied just 84. The next-best non-Oilers player finished 36 points behind the Edmonton star. The Hart Memorial Trophy is awarded to the league’s most valuable player.

McDavid also took home the Ted Lindsay Award and the Art Ross Trophy. The Ted Lindsay Award is given to the most outstanding player, as voted on by members of the NHLPA, while the Art Ross is given to the player who finishes first in the scoring race. 

James Norris Memorial Trophy

Second-year New York Rangers defensemen Adam Fox was voted best defensemen, taking home the 2021 Norris Trophy. The 23-year-old finished the season with 47 points in 55 games. Fox earned 40 first-place votes as Colorado’s Cale Makar and Tampa Bay’s Victor Hedman finished second and third in the Norris Trophy voting, respectively.

Vezina Trophy

Veteran goaltender Marc Andre Fleury earned best goaltender honors, winning the first Vezina Trophy of his 17-year career. The three-time Stanley Cup Champion won 26 of the 36 games he played in this season, recording a 1.98 goals-against average and a .928 save percentage. Tampa Bay’s Andrei Vasilevskiy and Colorado’s Philipp Grubauer finished second and third in the Vezina voting.

Calder Memorial Trophy

24-year-old Kirill Kaprizov of the Minnesota Wild was voted rookie of the year, winning the 2021 Calder Trophy. Kaprizov finished first among rookies in goals and points, with 27 and 51, respectively. Finishing second and third in Calder Trophy voting were Dallas’ Jason Robertson and Carolina‘s Alex Nedeljkovic.

Jack Adams Award

Carolina Hurricanes coach Rod Brind’Amour was given the 2021 Jack Adams Award. Brind’Amour’s Hurricanes had the third-best record in the NHL this season, finishing 36-12-8 and at the top of the Central Division. Dean Evason of Minnesota and Joel Quenneville of Florida came up short to Brind’Amour’s 61 first-place votes. 

Other Awards

Among other winners were:

Aleksander Barkov: Selke Trophy (Best Defensive Forward)

Jaccob Slavin: Lady Byng Trophy (Most Gentlemanly Player)

Lou Lamoriello: Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year Award

Kevin Hodgson: Willie O’Ree Community Hero Award

Pekka Rinne: King Clancy Trophy (Humanitarian Contributions)

Oskar Lindblom: Masterton Trophy (Dedication to Hockey)

Patrice Bergeron: Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award.